BELCHEM is
Top Innovator 2019

A 1,000°C Company from Saxony – BELCHEM GmbH Receives TOP 100 Seal for Outstanding Innovation and Success

BELCHEM GmbH, headquartered in Freiberg, has been recognized this year as one of most innovative SMEs in Germany. Among other things, this hidden champion’s non-combustible fibers protect products in the aerospace industry from temperatures above 1,000°C. As a technology leader, BELCHEM GmbH was awarded a coveted TOP 100 seal of approval for its innovative strength on June 28, 2019.

The textile industry has deep roots in Saxony, and textile production spurred a major economic boom in the region at the end of the 19th century. BELCHEM GmbH is proof not only that Saxon ingenuity and pioneering spirit are still alive and well today, but also that companies in the new federal states are important drivers of innovation in the German economy. “We never wanted to imitate others; rather, our goal has always been to develop truly innovative products,” says Dr. Robin Richter, explaining the success of his company. The present-day CEO of the company was interested the idea of non-combustible high-performance fibers dating back to his university days in the lab at Freiberg University of Mining and Technology, and it was this research that laid the foundations for his success today.

BELCHEM GmbH currently has 40 employees and supplies customers in more than 20 countries, including big names from the US, Japan, China, and India. The high-performance fibers from Saxony are used in high-tech insulation and fire-protection materials in the aerospace and automotive industries. The company will continue to invest heavily in innovation thanks to high level of international demand, and is also actively looking for qualified engineers and specialists to join the team.

BELCHEM GmbH describes its corporate culture of innovation and its aims with the credo “We love to make the difference®”. This sentiment is also demonstrated by the continually expanding in-house product development as well as the company’s many partnerships with universities and research institutions – another aspect that impressed the TOP 100 jury. The TOP 100 seal of approval, which was introduced in 1993, is only awarded to SMEs that demonstrate exceptional innovative strength and outstanding success.



Credits: KD Busch / compamedia

BELCHEM ist
Top Innovator 2019

1.000°C Unternehmen aus Sachsen – TOP 100 Auszeichnung für Innovationskraft und überdurchschnittliche Erfolge

Zu den Innovationsführern des deutschen Mittelstands gehört seit diesem Jahr auch offiziell die BELCHEM GmbH aus Freiberg. Die Hochtemperatur beständige textile Faser des Hidden Champion schützen unter anderem die Produkte der Luft- und Raumfahrt vor Temperaturen von über 1.000°C. Für seine anhaltende Innovationskraft wurde der Technologieführer aus Sachsen am 28. Juni 2019 mit dem begehrten TOP 100 Siegel ausgezeichnet.

Textile Produkte und Anwendungen haben in Sachsen eine lange Tradition und führten Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts zu einer großen, wirtschaftlichen Blütezeit. Dass der sächsische Erfindergeist auch heute noch lebendig ist und auch Unternehmen aus den neuen Bundesländern zu den Innovationstreibern der deutschen Wirtschaft zählen, zeigt das Beispiel des Preisträgers. „Wir wollten von Anfang an nie andere nachahmen, sondern immer echte Neuheiten entwickeln“, erklärt Dr. Robin Richter den Erfolg seines Unternehmens. Schon während des Studiums forschte der heutige Geschäftsführer in den Labors der TU Freiberg an der Idee unbrennbarer Hochleistungsfasern und setzte damit den Grundstein für den heutigen Erfolg.
Mittlerweile beschäftigt die BELCHEM GmbH 40 Mitarbeiter und beliefert Kunden aus über 20 Ländern. Dazu zählen große Namen aus den USA, Japan, China und Indien. Die Hochleistungsfasern aus Sachsen kommen dabei auch als Hightech- Isolations- und Brandschutzmaterialien im Flugzeug- und Automobilbau zum Einsatz. Dank der hohen internationalen Nachfrage wird das Unternehmen weiter kräftig investieren. Die Suche nach passenden Ingenieuren und Fachkräften zur Ergänzung des Teams läuft auf Hochtouren.

Mit dem Credo „We love to make the difference“®, beschreibt das Unternehmen Innovationskultur und eigenen Anspruch. Dies zeigt sich auch an der ständig wachsenden Produktentwicklung im eigenen Haus, sowie an zahlreichen Kooperationen mit Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen. Das überzeugte auch die Jury des TOP 100 Siegels. Denn die seit 1993 verliehene Auszeichnung erhalten mittelständische Unternehmen nur für besondere Innovationskraft und überdurchschnittliche Erfolge.



Bildquelle: KD Busch / compamedia